2020 Shortlist

2020 Book Prize Shortlist

We are delighted to share the book prize winner for 2020: Sean Griffin. Please download the announcement below.


The Ecclesiastical History Society is pleased to announce the shortlist of books published in 2019 for its annual book prize, awarded for an author’s first monograph in the field of ecclesiastical history. The consideration of this shortlist in order to select the winner will be taking place in the course of the next few months, and will be announced at the Society’s Winter Meeting, 16th January 2021.

  • Gareth Atkins, Converting Britannia. Evangelicals and Public Life, 1770-1840 (Woodbridge: The Boydell Press, 2019)
  • Matthew C. Bingham, Orthodox Radicals: Baptist Identity in the English Revolution (Oxford: OUP, 2019)
  • Liesbeth Corens, Confessional Mobility and English Catholics in Counter Reformation Europe (Oxford: OUP,  2019)
  • James Corke-Webster, Eusebius and empire: constructing church and Rome in the Ecclesiastical history (Cambridge: CUP, 2019)
  • Sean Griffin, The Liturgical Past in Byzantium and Early Rus (Cambridge: CUP, 2019)
  • Reuben A. Loffman, Church, State and Colonialism in Southeastern Congo, 1890-1962 (London: Palgrave Macmillan, 2019)

Congratulations to the winners of the 2019 EHS Book Prize:

Robin Whelan: The Politics of Orthodoxy in the Post-Imperial West (UCP)

Sam Brewitt-Taylor: Christian Radicalism in the Church of England and the Invention of the British Sixties, 1957-1970 (OUP)

Anyone wishing to submit a book for this next year’s competition should visit our prizes page here